Hangzhou, Chine
Hangzhou, Pagode sur le lac
China

Hang
zhou

Guest City
of Honour
2018

For our inaugural festival, Silk in Lyon is paying tribute to the city of Hangzhou and its know-how.

For thousands of years, China has enchanted the world with its mysterious fabrics. Precious materials with a spellbinding sheen were all the rage at the most elegant of Courts. Silk was highly coveted, soon sparking brisk trading between Europe and Asia.

Silk was first invented in the city of Hangzhou, in the province of Zhejiang, which Marco Polo called the “Celestial City”. As a dynamic city that sets the benchmark, Hangzhou hosted the G20 summit in 2016. It now boasts a National Silk Museum, as well as hosting the head office of the International Silk Union, an international federation for the silk industry.

As the guest of honour for the inaugural edition of SILK IN LYON, Hangzhou is delighted to be in Lyon to present the talents of four iconic firms that embody Chinese silk know-how by way of the exhibition “Aux Comptoirs d’Hangzhou“ (The Hangzhou Trading Companies), with the following participants:

  • Cathaya group
  • High Fashion International Group
  • Jin Fuchun Group
  • Wensli Group

Buoyed by its drive and historic heritage, Hangzhou and its home province have adopted an approach combining ground-breaking techniques and aesthetics, pushing research and development in sustainable solutions.

Hangzhou, Pagode sur le lac
Chine

Hang
zhou

Ville invitée
d'honneur
2018

Pour sa première édition, le festival Silk in Lyon met à l’honneur la ville de Hangzhou et ses savoir-faire…

Pendant des millénaires la Chine a envoûté le monde de ses mystérieuses étoffes. Des matières précieuses, aux reflets alors irréels envahissent les plus belles Cours. Très vite objets de convoitises, la soie fut rapidement sources de nombreux échanges entre nos deux continents.

“Cité céleste” aux yeux de Marco Polo, la ville de Hangzhou située dans la province de Zhejiang, est le berceau de la soie en Chine et abrite aujourd’hui son Musée National de la Soie. Dynamique et ville de référence, Hangzhou a accueilli le sommet du G20 en 2016. Elle est également le siège de l’Union Internationale de la Soie (International Silk Union), fédération professionnelle internationale dédiée à la précieuse étoffe.

Hangzhou, invitée d’honneur de la première édition de SILK IN LYON, est heureuse de présenter au cœur de Lyon, les savoir-faire de quatre de ses sociétés emblématiques et représentatives des savoir-faire de la soie en Chine au travers de l’exposition “Aux Comptoirs d’Hangzhou“, avec la participation de :

  • Cathaya group
  • High Fashion International Group
  • Jin Fuchun Group
  • Wensli Group

Riche de son dynamisme et de son héritage historique Hangzhou et sa province se positionnent dans une démarche d’innovations techniques et esthétiques en maintenant la recherche et le développement vers des solutions durables.